My Best & Worst of Golden Globes Red Carpet

I have yet to do and best/worst dressed list so I am decided to use the 2014 Golden Globes as my starter! 

We will start with the worst because I just want to get them out of the way: 

Image

 

Julia Roberts in a black, strapless Dolce & Gabbana dress that she put over a white blouse.  A lot of critics say she, “hit the nail on the head for dressing for your age”.   I think she missed the nail TOTALLY.  She is only 46 and has a rockin’ bod!  I know she looks great and modest, blah, blah, blah, but I feel like she totally forgot she was going to an award show!

In a red Giambattista Valli silk and lace number.  This is totally about the floral applique for me.  I feel like I would like it on another piece, maybe on a nude number in blush, soft pink and cream. Here, it is not winning me over.  It just looks like she has a weird growth coming out of either side of her. 

 

On to the best! My favorite part! 

This year I had a REALLY hard time picking my top favorites.  Olivia Wilde in her emerald sparkle number looked a dream while pregnant and was a close contender. 

My third place finisher is Emma Watson in Dior Couture.

Image

This piqued my interest immediately! Pants under the dress?? SO 30’s and chic! Absolutely a great choice for a young, sophisticated woman. She knocked it out of the park with this combo! 

My second runner-up is the always gorgeous, Amber Heard. Image

She is strikingly good looking to begin with, but this dress, hair and makeup combination take her to another level.  This is exactly what I would wear if I were ever able to attend an event like this and have millions of dollars pour out of my ass. 

And, last but not least, my number one as well as all of America’s:

Lupita Nyong’o in Ralph Lauren.  

Image

Of course this simple, silk work of beauty is a Ralph Lauren. This picture is a perfect example of how this dress should be worn, both on the runway and off.  The combination of the simplicity of the cut and the pigment on her skin make this my absolute favorite look of the night!

 

Please, tell me some of your favorites from the night!!

Thank you for reading! 

xoxo- Makayla Kelley 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Olivia Wilde was stunning! Lupita as well.

    I disagree about your feelings towards Julia’s outfit. Perhaps a high-waisted ballroom-length skirt would have been the better look, but I still thought she looked as clean and classic as she always does.

Leave a comment